The Meaning of Christmas……

Oh how I can remember the years of memories with family and gifts. Awaking early with my big brother leading the way. We let him this time. Up at the crack of dawn and stillness under the tree with abundance of gifts. Not a lot of gifts but just what the folks could afford. 

The styrofoam boots filled with candy and my eyes grew and grew. Searching around the tree, while the folks were still in bed, as today’s term has it, “it was awesome”. Back then we’d say to each other in whispers, “hey look what I got! What a gas!” or “Far Out.”

Aweeee yes, those tinsel aluminum trees. Before….            christmas-tree christmas-tree-after                                   After…..with the boots to spare…..christmasstyrofoamboats

The night  before was filled with sugar plums dancing in my head to the beat of “Thriller” if it were today. I will confess, our Christmas may have been a cultural thing, and gifts with the infamous Christmas tree.

The birth of Christ, to be honest, was far from our minds. I loved Christmas because of memories and family unity on that day. Religion was not in the picture or the fore front of our wee minds. The child in a manger????? With cows, a donkey, sheep, excrement…..Yuk! Three grown men who claimed to be wise? Reallyyy? Without a degree?

As I continued on in life, I came across my path in many ways of being touched by Christianity. The first encounter after family indoctrination, was in high school when a teacher was holding Bible Study at her home. Now before I go on, we all should know, when in high school there is peer pressure with a possible effected value system. With this said, I went to this Bible Study and was told I need to accept Jesus Christ as my personal savior. I wanted to be accepted so I said, “ok, I did”. (When I didn’t because I had no clue what that meant) My first sour taste in my mouth with religion. I left that far behind when the Jesus didn’t produce for me as a Santa Claus and gifts.

Time went on, again I seemed to search out spirituality and not deeply and not on a daily basis.  I found many people who I came in contact with were people who were profoundly spiritual but non-threatening. None of this, “you gotta stuff, convert, wear your hair long, wear a skirt, don’t swear, no make up (my goodness, I’d look dead without it) blah blah blah.” They were people which I saw a softness in their eyes and love in their hearts.

Now that I have reached this passage of my life, the up and over passage, Christmas isn’t all about gifts, tinsel and Christmas trees. Although, I still kindly accept them, especially chocolate. 🙂

Christmas to me is having an open mind and believing that God will reveal Himself to me. Which the spirit energy has. The child surrounded by cows, donkey, sheep and wise men has new meaning to me today and every day. This child is in God and God is in this child  for our sake. Each and everyday God reveals Himself to me in many different ways, from the people he brings to me, the laughter, and the universe itself. (Gods Art) Is life easy? No. Not every day, but a lot easier knowing that there is even a meaning at all of Christmas that we each find in our hearts on the 25th of December, is a true consolation in the end of the journey. 

Merry Christmas Everyone to you and yours ~

0f2cd80942deb878a3e26d15c8dc66capenguin

