The Box

Think outside the box. How many have heard this cliche? It originated to my knowledge back in the 60’s among the business world and actually I DO. How many of us NOT in the business world actually do this? How many even know the meaning?

Thinking outside the box means change. It also means, open mindedness. Leaving all your mindsets, tapes, experiences and attitudes aside. Throw them to the wind. 

The reason for this today is, at times I confess, I have a difficult time “thinking outside the box”. I can’t help but feel like an entity or an object in the box which I find insulting. Anyone remember the days when newspaper was used to wrap glassware to be placed into a box to move to our next address? There ya go! That’s what I feel like at times. 

Thinking outside the box means being creative, starting over, changing pace or taking on a new role. How many of us find change difficult? Its all about being creative. As I thought more and more about this today, I’m not in the business world and actually, since many of us have experienced this malady at some time or another, I have preferences. Instead of a box I prefer the following………..

box2

4 thoughts on “The Box

  1. How many empty fish bowls are there in which to jump? If there were fish in that bowl, then would you jump? What happens when other fish from other bowls jump into your new found bowl? If you can solve the ‘Nine Dots Puzzle’ you, too, CAN think outside the box even without being in the business world. If you feel like a glass wrapped in newspaper inside a box, you choose to feel that way. It has been said that human beings do not like change but would rather stay in their comfort zone. I am sure glad Columbus didn’t stay in his comfort zone. I am sure glad John Glenn and Neil Armstrong didn’t stay in their comfort zone. Did Nelson Mandela didn’t stay in his comfort zone? Mother Teresa? Malala Yousafzai? Change has been around since the Garden of Eden. Don’t fear it? Embrace it? Learn from it. If you don’t change, how can expect different results?

    Like

  2. Cute graphic. Thinking outside the box doesn’t mean you throw everything in the box away, it just means take a look around and see if you missed something, is there another way to handle a situation/project.

    Like

Comments are closed.