The Hula Hoop

image3s
Does anyone remember the Hula Hoop? Now don’t question why, but for some reason I’ve been thinking of the Hula Hoop. Maybe it’s because my thoughts have been going around and around lately in circles.
My first and only hula hoop was white and yes, round. 🙂
I don’t recall how old I was when this came into my life. Lets see, 11 or 12. Emmmmm That’s going way back into mental archives.
The Hula hoop craze started back in the 50’s to the Aussies of Australia. Back then they were made of bamboo (I’m sure the panda’s were somewhat put out being their main appetite), until the demand became so great, a company called Toltoys began to make them.
As time went on, the craze hit the states in the late 50’s and were manufactured in the making of different colors. During this time, contests sprung up all over the states with some of the moves being as follows; the Knee Knocker, Stork, Hula Hop, Wrap the Mummy, Alley Ooop and free style dancing. Noooo, I don’t remember any of those. All I remember is around and around and swing those hips or I’d have a huge ankle bracelet in no time.
Any one reading this remember THEIR hula hoop?
https://youtu.be/u_wpwXCnQPk
penguinWhere’s my hoop?

images4NOTES: Notes to admit I’m not a professional journalist and yes educated myself with this trivia info. http://www.hulahooping.com/history.html Not a plagiarist just reminiscing.

