Since I’m a Caregiver ~ Would like to share

November 2014 ~ Another Thanksgiving farewell….

I am taking care of my 92-year-old mother now. It has been a journey as many of you know personally yourselves. For those of you who don’t know my journey personally, you may have your own and know the journey all too well.

Yesterday being Giving Thanks Day I went out to see mom with a fresh-baked pumpkin pie where she resides. She was not feeling too well, just after finishing her lunch there, so I understood especially since the food where she is, is like K-ration when its a good OR bad day for the cook. Soooo, she was feeling sad about it, and I said, “no worries”, we’ll wait an hour and see how you feel. After an hour of good conversation, I put the pie up to her nose and remarkably, she suddenly was able to eat pumpkin pie with us. It was a good day and her COPD wasn’t giving her too much trouble then.

So another Thanksgiving day came to an end, sadly. We wheeled her back to her room and got her nestled in bed. This is her nest. After awhile it was time to leave and we said our good byes, and gave assurances we’d see each other again and love ya mores.

I can see deeper into my mother and see that she is putting up a facade as I use to when I would skin my knee on the playground at school.  As I walked outside to crisp cold and seeing my breath, I let out a long sigh while putting the cold car key in the door. Driving home the 15 minutes of seeing corn fields and barren trees, a tear fell.

You know the rest of the story. A carpool it was.

One thought on “Since I’m a Caregiver ~ Would like to share

  1. Debbie

    Hey Jan, it sounds like you had a very nice day with your mom. It’s gotta be hard having to leave her and it’s probably even harder on your mom not being in her own anymore. Pumpkin pie, the smell and the taste would probably bring back a lot of memories For her. Take care, Deb

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.